Moving To New Computer

Author
LarryPD
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5
2015/03/26 16:17:16 (permalink)

Moving To New Computer

Hi.
I have Music Creator 6; just updated to ver. 7 and am now wanting to move it to a new computer. Old is Windows 7. New is Windows 8.
Do I need to install ver. 6 first? Or with my product key for ver. 7, it will just install the whole thing? Being a one use license (I think), is there a way to disable Music Creator on the old computer or does it need to be uninstalled? I'm wondering if I can enable/disable so it's only active on one computer at a time, but still have it on both?

I also bought the mp3 encoder software as well as a couple other plug-ins from Music Creator. Once I have ver. 7 up and running on the new computer, do I just go to my account/purchased products, and re-download/install?

Thanks .. and yes; I'm new to all this. :)

Larry

8 Replies Related Threads

scook
    Forum Host
    • Total Posts : 24146
    Re: Moving To New Computer 2015/03/26 16:31:47 (permalink)
    Each version of MC is a full version and does not depend on the prior release. I believe some plug-ins were discontinued between versions and MC7 ships as both a 32 and 64bit application. From a quick look at http://www.cakewalk.com/Documentation?product=Music%20Creator%206%20Touch&language=3&help=Comparison.html and http://www.cakewalk.com/Documentation?product=Music%20Creator%207&language=3&help=Comparison.html several of the plug-ins dropped from MC7 will only work in 32bit MC. It will be necessary to run the unlock program for the mp3 encoder on the new machine after installing MC.

So you have a few decisions. If Win8 is 64bit, the Cakewalk Command Center will install the 64bit version of MC7.

Do you want access to the old plug-ins? Do old projects use discontinued plug-ins?