Windows 8.1 and Midi Interface

Author
carlcasso
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2015/05/07 13:43:00 (permalink)

Windows 8.1 and Midi Interface

Hi Guys,

I'm new to this stuff so please forgive me if this has been answered before.
I'm running Music Creator 5.
Keyboard Roland Fantom X6

Also Roland Gr-55 but lets leave that for now.

My problem is this.
I bought a new PC which came with Windows 8.1 64bit.

I was using an M Audi midi interface which has always worked fine.

However once I switched to Win 8.1 All bets were off.
I cant even see the interface in the Midi window.

I bought a cheap generic one on amazon ( No brand name ) but was promised it would work.
To be fair I can see it in my Midi Devices which is better than M Audio but I'm getting no sound.

I have absolutely no idea about this stuff.
I just record.

I'm hoping someone will send me a ink and say. " There You Go" which has happened in the past.
But maybe I'm being too optimistic.

Anyway, thanks for reading and I hope someone can help me.

PS, If there a midi interface that really works with 8.1 please let me know.

7 Replies Related Threads

57Gregy
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14404
    Re: Windows 8.1 and Midi Interface 2015/05/08 09:35:54 (permalink)
    Welcome to the forum.
    You don't need a MIDI interface; the Roland connects with USB so you can just plug it into the computer. Download the latest drivers for the Fantom and your operating system at Roland's web site.

Greg 
    I am selling my MIM Fender Stratocaster HSS, red and black. PM for more details.

Music Creator 2003, MC Pro 24, SONAR Home Studio 6 XL, SONAR  X3e, CbB, Focusrite Saffire, not enough space.
    Everything is better with pie. 

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=609446
    http://www.reverbnation.com/#!/gregfields 
    carlcasso
    Re: Windows 8.1 and Midi Interface 2015/05/08 11:35:19 (permalink)
    Hi Greg,