I admit it. I suck at Musical Time, Time Sigs and math in general. Looking for tuts...

Author
Beepster
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 18001
2015/05/30 13:54:06 (permalink)

I admit it. I suck at Musical Time, Time Sigs and math in general. Looking for tuts...

I've been playing by feel and ear for my entire 25 years as a musician. I can play, learn and write in all sorts of crazy time sigs but I have absolutely no idea what it all means aside from the basics like 2/4, 3/4, 4/4. That's all well and fine when just jamming with a band but it really gets annoying when trying to do stuff in a DAW. I need to learn how to a) identify what time sigs a piece may be using by ear/logic, b) write into/for time sigs and c) just generally become as comfortable with musical timing/math as I am with modes/keys/chords/general tonal crap.

It's not only frustrating it's an embarrassment especially considering I played freaking drums in a crazy progressive metal band and tonally I can dissect and analyze pretty much any gatdamned thing you put in front of me. I do truly suck at general math as well so I won't encourage you guys to try to explain it to me yourselves. I likely won't get it. What I need is preferably some good, preferably free and online, tutorials dealing with this subject with examples and exercises.

Essentially I need to be able to have hard and fast rules, procedures and equations on how to sit down with a pen and paper and/or a calculator and solve musical timing problems... like a freaking 6 year old learning how to add, subtract, muliply, divide, etc.

If you have any educational suggestions toss 'em my way. Doesn't matter what instrument they apply to or how basic/advanced it is. I just want to read and absorb and hopefully/eventually understand so I can work with the DAW and things like time based effects/instruments more proficiently.

Time for this severe defiency in my skills to end. It's no longer tolerable.