Anyone know a reputable reel to reel audio tape transfer service...

Author
Dreamer
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 152
2015/06/23 20:40:53 (permalink)

Anyone know a reputable reel to reel audio tape transfer service...

Anyone know a reputable reel to reel audio tape transfer service with prices that won't rip a hole in my wallet?
I have a 1" Ampeg studio mastering audio tape recording, (16 track 30 ips), and a 2" Ampeg studio mastering audio tape, (24 track 30 ips), from the late 80's early 90's. They've been stored since 1992.

I would like to salvage and restore these recordings and have all the tracks burned onto a DVD @ 24 bits for the current industry standard of digital mix-downs, (they were never finished but with Sonar I think I finally can).

This 'Friggin' thing is broked....
Proud owner of Sonar 8.5 Producer Edition

12 Replies Related Threads

Larry Jones
    Max Output Level: -74 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 834
    Re: Anyone know a reputable reel to reel audio tape transfer service... 2015/06/24 00:03:06 (permalink)
    I assume you mean Ampex. If so, it's probably 456 or 457. The black, "rubberized" backcoating on those tapes will come off in sticky shreds and gunk up the tape path of any machine you play them on (depending a little bit on if you stored them in any kind of climate-controlled setting). There is a technique, originally described by Ampex themselves, to "restore" the tape enough to play at least one time. It doesn't always work, and you have to assume you'll only get one chance -- that is, one pass over the heads, so no foolin' around. Set your levels as quickly as you can and transfer to digital format on the first pass. If the tape hasn't completely fallen apart by then and you need another pass to get a better level, lucky you.