Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
Ditcher
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2015/07/05 17:43:00 (permalink)

buying a new pc for music production

Hello there folks,

I am planning on buying a new PC only for music production this week.

I have made the following setup, and would like to know what you think and what can be better. My budget is 800 - 900 eur.

post edited by Ditcher - 2015/07/05 17:50:15
kevinwal
Max Output Level: -69 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1066
Re: buying a new pc for music production 2015/07/05 19:20:12 (permalink)
I'm no expert but this looks like a pretty nice system to me. I would personally consider going for more than 520 watts in the power supply. I'd shoot for 650 to 750 watts to give me some flexibility in adding PCI cards or additional drives. That may be a bit old school, so I would like to hear other opinions on that. 

Good luck!
cclarry
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 20964
Re: buying a new pc for music production 2015/07/05 19:29:34 (permalink)
Have you talked to Jim Roseberry about a Studio Cat PC?
He's a forum Member and builds Music Workstations...

His website...

http://www.studiocat.com/
post edited by cclarry - 2015/07/05 19:35:47

TerraSin
Max Output Level: -55.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1975
Re: buying a new pc for music production 2015/07/05 20:55:22 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby Mesh 2015/07/06 14:27:24
Dump the Seagate, get a WD Black drive.
RAM is cheap now. Go with at least 32GIG
You will probably not need an aftermarket cooler. If you're trying to save money, the stock one will work fine. All my machines use stock coolers.
Also, take a look at ASRock motherboards. I've been using them pretty exclusively for the past 6 to 8 years and they have been great.
dwardzala
Max Output Level: -61 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1470
Re: buying a new pc for music production 2015/07/05 21:34:38 (permalink)
A couple of recommendations:
I second the WD Black HD.
I would get a Samsung EVO SSD over Crucial.