Helpful ReplyLearning Piano for Guitar Player

Author
RSMCGUITAR
Max Output Level: -64 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1318
2015/07/25 16:57:11 (permalink)

Learning Piano for Guitar Player

Does anyone know a good online resource for learning piano. I've been playing guitar for many years. Now that I'm working with midi more often it would be nice to improve my knowledge on the keyboard. I'm looking to avoid learning stuff like Old McDonald and other kid songs so that I stay motivated to learn. Mostly I just want the basics for hashing out ideas. thanks
bayoubill
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 10899
Re: Learning Piano for Guitar Player 2015/07/25 17:06:43 (permalink)
1st learn all the notes on the keyboard. Sit at the keyboard once a day working at it for 30 min or so. It will take time so don't set a limit just be consistent. After you get comfortable with all the notes move to diatonic chords n C cuz there are no sharps or flats. Triads and 7th chords. Stay with the 30 min sessions. 

I suggest this book 

SWAMP MUSIC
Sonar PLATINUM        
Studio Cat DAW

Beepster
  • Total Posts : 18001
Re: Learning Piano for Guitar Player 2015/07/25 18:31:42 (permalink)
If you're trying to learn how to actually play full on piano stuff I can't help you but for understanding the keyboard just so you can punch in basslines, chords and melodies try this stuff...

Learn the seven modes in C Major. It's all white keys so it's easy and the basic premise is you find the C. Play from C to C (and always remember where the C key is... doesn't even matter if it's middle C).

Then go up one white key (which will be D) and play from D to D. Just keep going up one key like that until you reach the next C. Those are the modes.