Helpful ReplyIs it ever ok to clip for more volume during mastering? Do the Pros do it?

Page: 12 > Showing page 1 of 2
Author
bobernaut
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 106
2015/07/29 06:22:22 (permalink)

Is it ever ok to clip for more volume during mastering? Do the Pros do it?

Hi, and thanks for reading this. I have been learning the art of Mastering for a few months now and have a fair hold on it I think. Of course, like most people in this position, I can not get my projects as loud as the loudest loud that's out there. I know that they (the major studios) have a lot more money than I do and can afford the best gear available. I understand that the expensive gear has much better digital converters and that this ultimately adds up, in part, to the louder song that they produce.
Now, what I have done so far is only slightly under the overall volume levels of the professionals who work for the Major labels. The overall clarity of my stuff is not as rich and clear as the Pros.
But, here's the strange thing: My listeners prefer the louder, peaking songs of mine over the lower volume non-clipping songs, I have explained to them that the louder song is not the right way to do it and then try to point out why it isn't. Regardless, they still want to hear the clipping, peaking songs over the non-clipping peaking songs.
You may be asking who these listeners are. They are just your regular fans who have almost no knowledge of clipping, distortion, peaking and so on.
You may be asking what type of music this is. It is a heavy Slipknot/Rob Zombie/Ministry-type sound.
So, now that you know this, I'm asking those of you who know or think you know from experience, is it ever okay to clip a lot or even a little in your opinion?
And, do you know or believe that any of the commercially successful hard rock or metal bands out there (who record and try to sell), do, in fact, intentionally allow clipping on their Master in order to obtain more overall end volume?