Yamaha tf1

Author
datalin
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3
2015/07/31 01:40:01 (permalink)

Yamaha tf1

I'm a forum newb, so sorry if this has already been answered.   Sonar 8.5 Producer user.   I've been using a Mackie onyx mixer for inputs, and the Mackie control universal as my DAW controller.  the Mackie audio interface kept bonking on me, so I sold the mixer, so I need to buy something else.   I'm looking at the presonus 16.0.2, but then I saw the new Yamaha tf series. (with the flying faders)   In my fantasy, I could use a tf1 as an I/O and also as a DAW controller, and I could get rid of my control universal, and just have the one unit.     Does anyone know anything about the tf series....   is there any possibility of my fantasy coming true?!?   Is it even a good idea to try to combine your I/O with your controller?

3 Replies Related Threads

LunaTech
    Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 273
    Re: Yamaha tf1 2015/07/31 12:57:40 (permalink)
    Hi ... 
    Not sure about the TF series as I did not see any midi capability or control emulation mentioned for this series. It does indicate control over ethernet but I am not convinced that this means DAW control in addition to IPAD control. With that said.. I have seen your fantasy come pretty close with my current setup(s). These consist of the A&H QU 24 and the Zed R16. The QU is closer to what you are looking for due to its motorized faders. This combined with Azslow3's Sonar tool, It controls the surface very nicely. Giving more capability than just the standard midi fanfare. From faders, volume, mutes, solo's to bank switching and buss control, it is all there. I am very happy with the setup. I have done the same with his tool for my Zed R16.. Do a search on the forum for "you can control your daw as deep as you like". I believe you will be pleasantly surprised and maybe even "fantasyfied"..