Helpful ReplyHow do I secure my gears in another guy's practice pad?

Author
magik570
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 159
2015/09/02 11:47:46 (permalink)

How do I secure my gears in another guy's practice pad?

I just started practicing in a guy's garage with couple of other people.. after practice, I have to leave few of my things in there.. list is growing long. What is my way of branding my items, so that when things don't work out, I can go to his place and get it back? Do you guys face scenarios like that? Thanks in advance. 

Macbook Pro (Early 2011)
INTEL i5-2.4 ghz
16GB RAM
SoundCard: Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 
Sonar Platinum
M-Audio 88es
Fishman Triple Play 
Ibanez JS1000 guitar
Roland MA-8 Desktop Monitors
KRK Rokit 5
Moshkito
Max Output Level: -37.5 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 3765
Re: How do I secure my gears in another guy's practice pad? 2015/09/02 11:55:59 (permalink)
Hi,

I'm not sure I would leave it there, unless it was a friend I trusted!

I have no problems leaving my stuff at Craig's or Bapu's or most folks here ... but otherwise ... nahhhhh, not me! I've invested too much in nothing to lose it all again?

Music is not about notes and chords! My poem is not about the computer or monitor or letters! It's about how I was able to translate it from my insides! 
craigb
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 41704
Re: How do I secure my gears in another guy's practice pad? 2015/09/02 12:03:27 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby magik570 2015/09/02 13:01:51
Back in the 70's I lost gear from this exact scenario.  Now you can easily take pictures & video with your camera so you should definitely do that (make sure to get the serial numbers, etc.).  That way, if they DO get stolen, you can provide the information to police and insurance (they should be covered by this person's home owners insurance, but if what you are storing is valuable enough, you might consider getting some renter's insurance - it should be about $100 for a year).