External synth problem

Author
Kegaleenic
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2015/10/08 17:38:34 (permalink)

External synth problem

Hi all. I've been using FL studio for years but have recently got a few hardware synths and have had a lot of issues with timing problems in FL so decided to try Sonar out as I heard it was good for outboard gear. I have an Alesis io2 audio interface which I use to connect my synths up to. I've gone through the options and ticked the options for my interface and the synth I'm trying to use which is a waldorf rocket. 

I've managed to get a midi channel open and got it talking to the rocket as it lights up when I press my keyboard but I don't know how the hell to output the sound.

I'm obviously a total noobie to Sonar and getting something totally wrong so I'd like to find some help on here if I can. 

Any help would be totally appreciated.

7 Replies Related Threads

Adq
    Max Output Level: -82 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 426
    Re: External synth problem 2015/10/08 18:41:27 (permalink)
    How do you connect your synth's audio? Usually I connect it to audio interface input, and create audio track in Sonar for it, and enable monitoring and recording on this track.
    gswitz
    Max Output Level: -18.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5694
    Re: External synth problem 2015/10/08 19:35:19 (permalink)
    You probably haven't inserted the synth track correctly.

Try Insert > Soft Synth > True Pianos > 
    Check midi source and first synth audio output

Click ok.

StudioCat > I use Windows 10 and Sonar Platinum. I have a touch screen.
    I make some videos. This one shows how to do a physical loopback on the RME UCX to get many more equalizer nodes.
    rabeach
    Max Output Level: -48 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2703
    Re: External synth problem 2015/10/08 20:25:02 (permalink)
    Connect the Rocket´s audio line output  to your Alesis io2's audio line input. 
    Hatstand
    Max Output Level: -79 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 597