SONAR Platinum freezes with PRV and TTS-1 + Steam download problems

Author
Anaconda
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 7
2015/09/11 14:09:16 (permalink)

SONAR Platinum freezes with PRV and TTS-1 + Steam download problems

First of all, I think the new Platinum version is very good from the interface and functionality and the subscription model is fair, too. Providing the program via Steam is also a great idea, however...

1) Steam download of SONAR does not work most of the time. If I reinstall Windows, I have to try probably 20-30 times during different days to get SONAR to download without the error message "contents still encrypted". I have an active subscription and all of the big games (some even 30-40 GB!) always download without any issues from Steam. SONAR is the only program with this nasty problem.

At the moment I can't progress any of my projects at all:
2) Piano Roll View freezes the program almost instantly ("Program is not responding").
3) Cakewalk TTS-1 cannot be used because it immediately freezes SONAR. So I can't open any of my older projects that use it, since the program crashes.

I've tried contacting the e-mail support of Cakewalk about these problems, but never get any reply. It's starting to feel as if I wasted a huge amount of money on a non-working program.

Some info about my setups:
PC 1:
Windows 7 Ultimate, clean install, genuine copy
No other programs than Steam, SONAR and 64-bit (legit, no cracked/pirated software) VST plugins
Intel i7 (Hashwell) 4770K 3,5Ghz
32 GB RAM
Samsung Evo 850 Pro 1 TB SSD
No anti-virus or other intrusive programs installed

PC 2:
Windows 10 Pro, clean install, genuine copy
No other programs than Steam, SONAR and 64-bit (legit, no cracked/pirated software) VST plugins
Intel i7 (Skylake) 6700K 4Ghz
64 GB RAM

Audio card is PreSonus FireStudio Project (FireWire). I have the same issues on both PC's. FireWire controllers are Texas Instruments based, which should be reliable AFAIK.