Seaboard Rise with Omnisphere

Author
polarbear
Max Output Level: -66 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1212
2015/11/16 11:58:45 (permalink)

Seaboard Rise with Omnisphere

Anyone know how useful one of those Seaboard Rise keyboards would be with Omnisphere? And would it be more complicated to setup than a traditional keyboard? I'd love to play with one one of these days and it seems like Omnisphere would be the perfect synth for it.

http://www.bydavidrosen.com
http://www.imdb.me/davidrosen
Winner of Best Song of 2007 at Acidplanet.com!

PC Audio Labs Rokbox OB1 - Gigabyte X99-UD4-CF - Intel Core i7 5820K @ 3.30GHz - 32GB RAM - ATI Radeon HD 7700 - Windows 7 Pro
Sonar Platinum - Komplete 9 Ultimate - Spectrasonics Omnisphere - reFX Nexus2 - And the list goes on...
RME BabyFace Pro - M-Audio Keystation 88es

10 Replies Related Threads

dcumpian
    Max Output Level: -34 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4124
    Re: Seaboard Rise with Omnisphere 2015/11/17 09:00:33 (permalink)
    I have zero experience with the Rise, but from everything I've read about it, there is a software layer between the keyboard and the DAW that interprets the signals getting generated. It uses polyphonic midi to basically isolate each note into a separate midi channel to capture the performance for each note separately (aftertouch, bend, velocity, pressure/expression). Not sure what happens if you try to use more than 16 notes at a time, though that shouldn't be a big deal.

So, the software layer lets you then configure what gets sent to the DAW. My understanding is that in order to get the most out of the keyboard, any VSTi would have to have the same patch on all 16 midi channels to react to the performance. I believe you can also map midi channels to zones on the keyboard to setup splits.

There is a lot of midi data generated, but for really expressive lead parts, it should be great. For standard chordal stuff, I'd be inclined to use a regular keyboard.

Regards,
    Dan

Mixing is all about control.