Helpful ReplyFX Advice for Ugly Voice

Author
Voda La Void
Max Output Level: -76 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 723
2015/10/29 09:43:51 (permalink)

FX Advice for Ugly Voice

Ok, so I've been writing and recording for 30 years or so and my voice has always held me back.  I have ability and range, lots of passion and drama, but I have an ugly voice.  I would have no problem with a vocalist recording on my songs, or as collaborations, but I don't think anyone is interested in re-recording vocal work on about 12 albums worth of music accumulated over the years. "here you go, please re-sing these 130 songs and let me know when you're done, thanks."  

That ain't gonna work....

So...how about using some effects to color and remove the ugly from my vocal tracks?  Maybe something that becomes signature, for me and my style.  I've experimented a little with Amp Sims and phase effects, but they sound a bit too familiar and cliched and almost sounds like I'm trying to emulate Deftones (although I do think their vocalist uses a certain effect as signature to color his voice too)

I'm just not very inventive about FX.  My musical style does lend itself to creative effects but I'm just not real creative with them. Does anyone have any ideas on what might work for hiding the ugly tone in a person's voice?  

I included a song here as an example of what I sound like.  Maybe some heavy EQ'ing...?  

http://www.vodalavoid.com/music/boundandloved.mp3

Voda La Void...experiments in disturbing frequencies...
Guitarhacker
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 24398
Re: FX Advice for Ugly Voice 2015/10/29 10:56:46 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby Voda La Void 2015/11/04 16:52:29
Melodyne.

Don't mess with anything else. I listened to the first 10 seconds of your singing.  Your voice works well for the rock style.... you just need to fix the off pitch singing.