Helpful ReplyNot a feature request, a direction: Make MIDI Better

Page: < 12 Showing page 2 of 2
Author
kb420
Max Output Level: -57 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1839
Re: Not a feature request, a direction: Make MIDI Better 2016/02/09 04:07:22 (permalink)
skitch_84
tenfoot
kb420
and I still believe, that the majority of Sonar users don't really compose midi in Sonar.

I start every project and do most of my editing in midi and use Sonar all day every day -  I am reasonably certain I am not alone:) 

"It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." - Mark Twain

Same here. I'm a video game music composer and 99% of my work is done using only MIDI (sample libraries, etc.). I use Sonar Platinum from beginning to end. :)

I didn't say that there weren't ANY users that compose midi in Sonar.  I just said that I believe that the majority don't really compose midi in Sonar. That Mark Twain quote doesn't apply here.  You can believe something and your entire belief system can be wrong.  Just as I may be wrong.  Honestly,  I don't KNOW for a fact that the majority of Sonar users aren't composing midi.  I just believe that to be the case based on the fact that there are other programs out there that are so much easier to work with.  Usually a companies success is based on how well it listens to the needs of it's users.  If midi composition were a big request for Cakewalk users,  then it's implementation would be a lot better.

I remember when destructive input quantize wasn't even a feature in Sonar,  and there were users who absolutely didn't want it added to Sonar. They all considered that to be something unimportant,  and they wanted the bakers to focus on other things.  I don't think it was added until Sonar 8.