Best Audio Latency Interface Suggestions-Post for Craig

Author
dannyjmusic
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 237
2016/02/08 22:58:01 (permalink)

Best Audio Latency Interface Suggestions-Post for Craig

Hello Craig...First...I was a fan back when Electronic Projects for Musicians came out! Where did the time go?
Anyway...I was a drummer for years and latency when trying to play a drum part on a virtual synth drives me nuts....I used to use an Atari with Hybrid Arts using all external synths, and there was no latency at all!
So my question is...does that Tascam US 20 x 20 with the USB 3.0 make a big difference? or should I just get a good USB 2.0 interface...
I've been using a Zoom R24 and it really has a lot of latency...works pretty well, but also is kinda quirky and Sonar really doesn't like it much..crashes a lot and takes forever to be recognized again by Sonar. 
I also am using a Fast Track C400 for now...tired of the Zoom problems and looking for something better
I really don't need a lot of inputs right now...just 2 to 4
Sooo...I know you just got the Tascam...is that a good choice, or should I just go for a 2.0 interface? I am a full time composer so it's not just a hobby.

Thanks for your thoughts

14 Replies Related Threads

batsbrew
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 10037
    Re: Best Audio Latency Interface Suggestions-Post for Craig 2016/02/10 10:56:58 (permalink)
    if you are looking for the BEST....

for latency....with usb....

seems the RME is the one you should be looking at.

Bats Brew music Streaming
    Bats Brew albums:
    "Trouble"
    "Stay"
    "The Time is Magic"
    --
    Sonar 6 PE>Bandlab Cakewalk>Studio One 3.5>RME BFP>i7-7700 3.6GHz>MSI B250M>G.Skill Ripjaws 4 series 16GB>Samsung 960 EVO m.2ssd>W 10 Pro

Beagle
    • Total Posts : 50621
    Re: Best Audio Latency Interface Suggestions-Post for Craig 2016/02/10 13:11:40 (permalink)