External mixers - just curious

Author
Jeffiphone
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 173
2016/02/09 15:18:57 (permalink)

External mixers - just curious

Looking at the post a while back where members showed us their home studios, I noticed some had external hardware mixers. I'm just an amateur, but I do all my mixing on the Console in Sonar. So I was just curious as why some folks use external mixers/boards.

Acer with i7 processer - Sonar Platinum 64bit - Windows 10 64 bit - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen) -

16 Replies Related Threads

Sanderxpander
    Max Output Level: -36.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3873
    Re: External mixers - just curious 2016/02/09 15:23:36 (permalink)
    They can be very useful even if you do all your mixing in Sonar, for instance if you use them create zero latency monitor mixes for the performer, or if you like to play your synths without having to boot your computer/Sonar, or if you have too many sources to hook up to your interface all at once. 
    post edited by Sanderxpander - 2016/02/10 02:10:14
    pfossi
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 71
    Re: External mixers - just curious 2016/02/09 15:33:05 (permalink)
    I use my Behringer UFX1204 mixer so that I can leave my microphones, keyboards, Synth, and whatever else plugged into it own channel. That way, I don't have to "set up" for a recording session. Everything is already prepared for it's next turn.
    Zargg
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 10666
    Re: External mixers - just curious 2016/02/09 15:45:28 (permalink)
    Hi. When I had / used a mixer, it was because of lack of preamps in my Audio Interface.
    And as Sander said, they are quite useful with regards to monitor mixes, and to hook up (more) external equipment.
    All the best.

Ken Nilsen
    Zargg
    BBZ