Transfer MIDI data from cassette into SONAR?

Author
David W. Ganem
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 9
2016/04/16 05:29:57 (permalink)

Transfer MIDI data from cassette into SONAR?

My production partner passed away couple years ago leaving behind his legacy and a home based project recording studio. In the late 1980's I wrote, arranged, and recorded in four track demo format a pop-dance tune. I was fortunate to recover from his archive all of the music I worked on except the master of the pop-dance tune. What I did get pertaining to that arrangement is a cassette containing all of the MIDI Data Files. These files were uploaded to cassette from a MIDI sequencer. I think what I was using back then was a Roland MC-300. I have spent well over a year assembling, configuring, updating, and upgrading a home MIDI production/recording setup. I am still learning how to use it.

Core 2 Quad 2.5 GHz 8 GB RAM
Windows 10 PRO 64 bit w/ SONAR Platinum
M-Audio Keystation 61es and Trigger Finger Pro
Roland D-5, and Fatar SL-990
Monitoring via HDMI with Denon 7.1 AVR
Speakers and Sub: JBL

I don't know what format the MIDI files are, but so far as I understand it, the MIDI data is pretty universal. Also, I can't list them here without looking them up, but I seem to recall reading that SONAR can understand a number of MIDI formats. So my question is this: Can I get that data from the cassette loaded into SONAR, and how do I best accomplish the task. I do own a Denon precision stereo cassette deck.

4 Replies Related Threads

vdd
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 92
    Re: Transfer MIDI data from cassette into SONAR? 2016/04/16 07:44:36 (permalink)
    Hi,
    The Denon tape deck alone won't help a lot, because the Roland sequenzer stored the information like you would transfer data via an acoustic coupler the old days. You need a device to translate the acoustic signals stored on the tape back to MIDI data.