Wave Import Too Quiet

Author
immortalis
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 9
2016/09/01 07:49:35 (permalink)

Wave Import Too Quiet

Hello, I'm still learning how to use Sonar and I've imported a Wave with Vocals into my track but its very quiet compared to the rest of the instruments. All levels of each track are pretty much the same but the vocals are drowned out completely. As a stand alone wave playing through the lap top the vocals are adequate. As soon as they are imported into Sonar the Vocal Wave becomes inaudible. Upping the levels of the Vocal does nothing. Any suggestions.

Thanx

I

4 Replies Related Threads

Guitarhacker
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 24398
    Re: Wave Import Too Quiet 2016/09/01 08:25:25 (permalink)
    Is the vocal wave a full looking wave or is it a thin, tiny, line?  Notice the difference between the brown track and the other tracks regarding the physical size of the wave. It's sufficient for what it does, but it is lower than the others. I have seen a few, back in the early days, where the track was a tiny thin line. My signal was just too low going in and I had to learn how to get a better signal input. Recording a good signal strength should give a full looking wave.  Using normalize or gain as a short cut  increases the noise levels in the track. Not good! Start with good waves. Learn how to record them.

Your waves in the tracks should look closer to the red and blue in the pic above.  If you have that, you're good and the issue lies elsewhere.

You can solve level issue one of two ways.... either bring up the vocal track or lower everything else to match.  Lowering the other tracks is sometimes the best way.... you can always turn things up later when you have a clean balanced mix.

Use volume envelopes to control the levels. That's what the yellow lines in the picture above are.  The volume envelopes are a great tool to use.

My website & music: www.herbhartley.com