Exporting to score software

Author
Firesong X
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 150
2016/09/29 06:03:28 (permalink)

Exporting to score software

A pianist and some other musicians are interested in performing some of my compositions. I have been trying to export from Sonar Platinum into Sibelius (8.4.2). I have tried exporting as an XML file but when I import it into Sibelius (or Musescore) it says that the file is not a valid XML file. If I proceed the resulting file in Sibelius (or Musescore) is full of major errors. The midi files don't produce anything resembling a score when I import them either- but they do sound better when played back in Sibelius. I am no expert at scoring and could use any advice or suggestions you might be kind enough to offer.

Thanks
John
post edited by Firesong X - 2016/09/29 20:52:26

9 Replies Related Threads

eph221
    Max Output Level: -28.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4665
    Re: Exporting to score software 2016/09/29 17:53:20 (permalink)
    John,

If you're under 35 I'd take Jerry up on his offer to teach you composition for free.  You are extremely talented.
    Firesong X
    Re: Exporting to score software 2016/09/30 06:14:07 (permalink)
    eph221
    John,

If you're under 35 I'd take Jerry up on his offer to teach you composition for free.  You are extremely talented.

Thanks for the compliment. I didn't see that offer until you pointed it out, thank you for pointing it out. It would be a great opportunity. I meet the age requirement as I am 15 but I don't play any traditional instruments. I tried the violin, but I found it really frustrating and eventually had to focus on my school work. I was assigned the flute and drums at school, but could not produce any sounds that were not noise. I also live in eastern Canada. So I don't think I fit his requirements. They seem pretty firm.