Electrical Noise in Monitors

Author
Markubl2
Max Output Level: -85 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 299
2017/01/18 20:18:36 (permalink)

Electrical Noise in Monitors

(I am very new to all of this, so please keep that in mind).

I have a Roland FA-08 plugged into a Tascam US 4x4 via TRS cables.  Tascam is USB into a homebuilt computer.  I also have the FA08 plugged in USB into the computer.  I have two JBL monitors plugged into the Tascam for output.  I just purchased a used studio desk with a tray for an 88 key board and put everything together this past weekend.

I am not really familiar with the Tascam, but I have it up and working well.  I am just learning about recording audio and Midi (as I said, I'm really new).  I noticed after I got everything together this weekend I have quite a bit of electrical noise in JBL monitors when I turned up the line out on the Tascam.  The noise is substantial.  I tracked down the noise to the USB cable that goes from the FA08 to the computer.  From the keyboard tray, I had the power, TRS cables, and USB all nicely zip tied together and mounted to the desk so I could pull the keyboard tray in and out easily.  Obviously, zip tieing the USB together with the TRS cables is causing the noise (as soon as I disconnect the USB from the FA08, the noise goes away). 

To the point, I think I have a few options..

1)  Is there such thing as a better or "shielded" 1/4 cable I could use that would withstand the USB noise?  What I have now is 6'  unbalanced cables from Guitar Center.  If I could buy something better, I would prefer that, because my option number 2 is:

2)  Drill some holes and modify the desk to physically separate the TRS from the USB.  Even so, I think at some point they will be in contact, but it would only be for a few inches.  If they are close to one another for a few inches I don't know if that will actually solve the problem.