Getting sonar to recognize my edrums

Author
Thomasc02
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 9
2017/02/18 19:14:22 (permalink)

Getting sonar to recognize my edrums

Hey guys, I just recently purchased Sonar home studio and i am having a problem in finding out how to connect my ddrum electric drum set to sonar. My computer has recognized my edrum kit, I just dont know where to go in sonar to find it.
I am connected via USB, Anything would help as i am new to this program. 

20 Replies Related Threads

telecharge
    Max Output Level: -67 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1180
    Re: Getting sonar to recognize my edrums 2017/02/18 20:09:45 (permalink)
    I believe your edrums are a MIDI device, so try this...
    • Open SONAR
    • Go to Edit > Preferences > MIDI > Devices
    • Select your MIDI ports under Inputs
    • Select your MIDI ports under Outputs
    • Click Apply
    • Click Close
    • Click the + (Add Track) button in the Track view
    • Click the Instrument tab
    • Select Record Enable
    • Click Create
    The Grim
    Max Output Level: -76 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 724
    Re: Getting sonar to recognize my edrums 2017/02/18 20:09:46 (permalink)
    does it show up in the list when you go to the edit (menu in sonar) - preferences - midi - devices ?
    Cactus Music
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 8424
    Re: Getting sonar to recognize my edrums 2017/02/18 21:06:05 (permalink)
    My Yamaha kit comes with a driver so you have to install that first. 
    Then as said above you make sure it's checked as an input device on your midi list'
    Insert a midi track and select the drum kit as the input device. 
    I monitor my drums brain when I play otherwise there is a touch of latency which bugs me. You might fare better if your computer is better than mine.

Johnny V  
    Cakelab  
    Focusrite 6i61st - Tascam us1641. 
    3 Desktops and 3 Laptops W7 and W10
     http://www.cactusmusic.ca/

Thomasc02