New song. Help needed to tame cymbals

Author
optimus
Max Output Level: -84 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 316
2017/03/20 04:21:02 (permalink)

New song. Help needed to tame cymbals

I've posted this song because I would like some help on taming the cymbals which have bled into the drum mics during recording. I have tried using the Sonitus Multiband compressor, which has helped, but it also affects the tonality of the snare.
Is there a better way to reduce the wash of those damned cymbals short of re-recording the drums.
Also, anything else you can suggest for this mix would be appreciated.

Cheers

https://soundcloud.com/wal-pawlik/fast

Sonar Platinum, Cakewalk by Bandlab, Roland Octacapture, Windows 7, i5 processor, 8 Gb RAM, X_Touch

12 Replies Related Threads

synkrotron
    Max Output Level: -22.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 5263
    Re: New song. Help needed to tame cymbals 2017/03/20 04:42:31 (permalink)
    I'm no expert but when I used to record the drummer in our band I used two condenser mics over the cymbals, a SM58 beta on the snare and an AKG kick drum mic.

Bleed was unavoidable, across all mics but I only ever used straight EQ to selectively filter out "unwanted" frequencies from the resulting tracks. I would never have considered using a multi band compressor.

Cheers

andy

http://www.synkrotron.co.uk/
    Intel Core™i7-3820QM Quad Core Mobile Processor 2.70GHz 8MB cache | Intel HM77 Express Chipset | 16GB SAMSUNG 1600MHz SODIMM DDR3 RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675M - 2.0GB DDR5 Video RAM | 500GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD | 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD | Windows 10 Pro | Roland OCTA-CAPTURE | SONAR Platinum ∞ FFS| Too many VSTi's to list here | KRK KNS-8400 Headphones | Roland JP-8000 | Oberheim OB12 | Novation Nova | Gibson SG Special | PRS Studio
    Wookiee
    Rrrrugh arah-ah-woof?
    • Total Posts : 13306
    Re: New song. Help needed to tame cymbals 2017/03/20 14:30:45 (permalink)
    First a question about how you recorded the drums are they multi miked?