What should I back up?

Author
davdud101
Max Output Level: -69 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1058
2017/03/30 15:44:05 (permalink)

What should I back up?

Working on an entirely new build for my studio.... this is my first time, but I'm speaking with experienced folk to get tips on what equipment and stuff is the best, as well as for gaining information so that I can do a bit more myself next time.

But here's the question: What you guys typically back up when backing up your project files? Do you just do EVERYTHING at once? Or do you have some way to compress your entire projects folder, or perhaps only take project files for unfinished songs and everything else is exported audio files?

I want to see how you guys do it - so that I don't screw up!

Mics: MXL 990, MXL R80, 2 x MXL Tempo XLRs, Cobalt Co9, SM48, iSK Starlight
Cans: Hifiman HE4XX, AKG M220
Gear: Cakewalk BBL - PreSonus Firepod - Alesis Elevate 3 - Axiom 49
DAW: Win10, AMD FX-8300, 16GB DDR3

17 Replies Related Threads

Slugbaby
    Max Output Level: -33.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4172
    Re: What should I back up? 2017/03/30 17:44:07 (permalink)
    I save all my projects in 'Per Project Folders', and then just back everything up every couple of weeks to an external drive that is normally not connected to my DAW.  With drives being so cheap, I don't bother compressing - more work than it's worth.
    I don't worry about settings, applications, or samples.  Those can be downloaded again from the vendors if the PC dies.

And when I finish a project (aka album that gets released for sale, or anything else that valuable), i'll take the mastered WAVs, put them in a USB key, and leave it in my safe deposit box (that holds all the important stuff in case my apartment burns down).

http://www.MattSwiftMusic.com

Dell i5, 16Gb RAM, Focusrite 2i2 IO, Telecasters, P-bases, Personal Drama for a muse.
    bapu
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 86000