Audio engine stops for no apparent reason

Author
JohnScig
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1
2017/04/28 10:39:46 (permalink)

Audio engine stops for no apparent reason

Good day to all!
I need help and I'd like to ask if any of you have experienced a similar issue and how you got out of it.

Issue description
One day, I started my Sonar X3 project, as usual, and suddenly, during loading, I got the "The audio engine has been stopped unexpectedly" message. This is strange, because I wasn't doing anything on the computer, so I didn't know why it would have any problems. I waited for the VSTs to load (it takes a minute or ten) and pressed play. There was a lot of cracking and popping for about 2 seconds and then the audio engine stopped again. At this point, I restarted Sonar, no help. I restarted my computer, loaded it all up again, no help.
I decided to load a smaller project (with only a few VST plugins). It loaded up without an issue, but once I started playing the piano with sustain pedal, the audio engine quickly gave out again.

At this point, I would like to point out that my rig is not connected to the Internet. And I haven't worked with it for a few days, so there were no changes, no updates, no new installations, no new drivers, no new hardware or software. It just suddenly stopped working properly.

Here's what I did trying to solve the issue:
I tried adjusting the latency in my ASIO panel (Creative ASIO), but even at 200ms, the audio engine would stop eventually. I usually have it at 10 or 20ms, so this was very strange.
I decided to reinstall Sonar - downloaded the latest version and installed it, but that didn't help at all.
I decided to switch my discrete PCIe sound card off and use the onboard(realtek)+Asio4All, but the issue remained the same (alleviated again by higher latency, but eventually dropping out anyway, plus you can't work at 200ms).
I checked my RAM, but Windows found no issues.