Phase Issues with drums parallel compression

Author
J-War
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 78
2017/10/24 06:28:56 (permalink)

Phase Issues with drums parallel compression

Hello All ! :)
I am new to parallel compression and i am trying to use this method on my drums in Sonar X3, unfortunately i experience a quite ugly and disturbing " phase effect ". ( the Plugin delay compensation is ON in sonar )

I have the regular Kick, Snare, Toms, HitHat, Overheads and Room tracks.
Those tracks direct output to a bus labelled " Dry Bus " which goes to " Drums Master Bus ".
Then, on EACH drums tracks (Kick, Snare, Toms, HitHat, Overheads and Room tracks) I've put a send with " post " button OFF to a bus labelled " Wet Bus " (which goes to " Drums Master " Bus too).

Of course, the wet bus is heavily compressed using SSL Comp with fastest attack time, bass and treble boost.

I am then blending the Wet and Dry busses, unfortunately i am not able to get rid of the annoying "phase effect".

Am i doing something wrong ? Is there a more accurate way to do this in Sonar ?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Best regards.
J.
post edited by J-War - 2017/10/24 08:47:58

15 Replies Related Threads

dcumpian
    Max Output Level: -34 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4124
    Re: Phase Issues with drums parallel compression 2017/10/24 12:44:59 (permalink)
    I've never had this problem and it is something I do quite a bit. One thing that I do differently is that I only have a "Drum Bus" that goes to the Master. The parallel bus outputs to the Drum bus and I blend it using the fader of the parallel compression bus. That way the drum sound doesn't change when I adjust the level of the Drum bus.

Having said all that, it really should not matter. Buses should not get out of sync like you are describing. I'd suggest trying a different compressor and if that doesn't work, take a hard look at your interface.

Regards,
    Dan

Mixing is all about control.

My music: