SONAR to New REAPER Users MIDI Editing Info and How to Run Different Versions and Backup

Author
GotMetalBoy
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 122
2017/12/03 03:52:03 (permalink)

SONAR to New REAPER Users MIDI Editing Info and How to Run Different Versions and Backup

I've been using Cakewalk as my DAW since 1997 and figured they wouldn't be around much longer after Gibson bought them and they stopped responding to support tickets and you couldn't call them for support for over a year.

I decided to start learning REAPER last year because it's very low priced, has a lot of tutorials on YouTube and has really helpful forum members. I also like how tweakable it is and how you can write your own programs/actions/scripts/Plug-ins. I'm really OCD and ADHD when it comes to editing and tweaking audio and MIDI, so I find all the customization you can do in REAPER really helpful.

I was able to do all the audio editing I could do in SONAR in REAPER but I struggled with MIDI Editing.

I asked the MIDI questions below on their forum and all my of them were answered and I'm able to do everything I could in SONAR and more. The only thing I have to figure out is how to use Melodyne without ARA. Below my MIDI questions I explain how to install different versions and how to backup your install and all configurations.

MIDI INFO
= Here's the link to my REAPER Forum Post: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=199986

1. Is there a MIDI Trim knob that can be added to a track?
** I used this in SONAR to raise or lower the velocity of a MIDI track
*** As a workaround I've been using one of the JS MIDI Velocity plugins in the MIDI track's FX
2. Is there a way to apply one of the JS MIDI Velocity plugins to the MIDI track destructively?
3. Is there a way to select a bunch of notes and change all their velocities at once to something like 107?