Helpful ReplyLockedGibson, Norlin and the fine American tradition of not learning a damn thing

Author
scottcmusic
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 130
2017/12/10 18:02:13 (permalink)

Gibson, Norlin and the fine American tradition of not learning a damn thing

This whole thing is sad and has me gutted. I have been a user since Cakewalk Pro Audio 8. Cakewalk has been a way of life for me.

I am also a guitar player ... in fact, I was a guitar player way before I was a Sonar player. Gibson itself has already been through this. In the sixties the guitar maker was sold off to CMI, I think ... and then ultimately to Norlin. Why this seems significant, at least to me, is apparently nobody has learned anything. Back then it was thought that Gibson sales could be kicked up a few notches if some folks with real business savvy were to buy Gibson outright and then get out their slide rules and spread sheets and subject the company to their consulting voodoo. They reasoned that with "real businessmen" on board, as opposed to merely artisans, the company could be streamlined and profits maximized. Instead what happened was they made decisions that ultimately caused the company to fall out favor with their core purchasing demographic ... the actual musicians themselves. The working musicians hated the changes that were being made to their beloved instruments and began to distance themselves from Gibson. This opened the door for the boom of Japanese guitar makers from the famed lawsuit era to come in and capitalize on Gibson's new found shortcomings.

What ultimately saved Gibson was a very small group of dedicated employees ... employees that were actually guitarists themselves ... stepped in and bought the company back from Norlin and returned it's quality back to past standards. 

Just checked, and I got about 18 dollars and change on me ... anybody else?