New Song - Nothing Real

Author
the_user_formally_known_as_glennbo
Max Output Level: -84 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 317
2018/03/18 16:22:23 (permalink)

New Song - Nothing Real

I almost always use real instruments for recording, including acoustic drums, but for kicks the other day I decided to write a song using no real instruments.

Being a drummer I decided to take it one more level and try using the drag-n-drop functionality of Superior Drummer to create the drums, so I didn't play the drums on this one, but simply arranged the drums from midi clips.

The song consists of nothing but one instance of Superior Drummer and one instance of Kontakt with 13 of the Factory Library sounds dialed up.

The song is titled "Nothing Real" because not one instrument on it is real.

https://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=13706459

Glennbo
---------------------------------------------------------
http://soundclick.com/glennbo

9 Replies Related Threads

emeraldsoul
    Max Output Level: -56.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1858
    Re: New Song - Nothing Real 2018/03/19 01:53:46 (permalink)
    I like the stuff you have supporting the leads. Very thoughtful arranging of little pads and horn parts underneath, they do a good job of supporting the action. I think that's the toughest stuff to write, and you did a great job here on those.

Don't get me wrong, the lead stuff shows your talent as well, but as you say it's fresh from the can. You made it sound cohesive.

I listened to a few others on your soundclick site, and you really do have some writing and playing chops! Kind of prog jazz rock? Way cool!

cheers,
    -Tom

A work in regress:
    www.studiusinterruptus.com

Cornbread - video   audio
    A Very, Very Troubled Soul - video   
    Kilometers Davis - video   audio
    Mayans (Face in the Crowd) - video  audio
    The Sweet Slow Fade - video
    Re: New Song - Nothing Real 2018/03/19 16:03:06 (permalink)
    emeraldsoul