Helpful ReplySigns of SSD Failure?

Author
danevaz
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 36
2018/06/19 19:45:43 (permalink)

Signs of SSD Failure?

Hey All,

Still running WIN7/SP1/latest updates on a 5 year old Dell XPS8500.  All has been well until early this year when a couple of times I got unceremoniously got kicked out of WINDOWS and when I tried to reboot, my SSD (boot drive) was not recognized by the BIOS. 

I'm a retired computer professional so I did what I had to do to get things sorted out.  Happened again a few weeks ago.  Took the whole case apart, vacuumed inside, made sure everything was set and connected properly.  Was OK for a few weeks, and then last night - "BSOD" 2x, which in the 5 years I've had this computer I've only seen maybe 2 other times when trying to load funky drivers.

The common element - the room was hot and humid and I'd been doing a lot of browser work.  Air Con is on today and all is fine.

Would this be a sign of impending SSD death - a drive that stops working when it (presumably) "overheats"?  I cleaned up the drive and it's nowhere near an 80% use rate.  Ran Malware Bytes and my AntiVirus - all OK.  Checked the SSD for bad sectors - none found.

The computer is set up in the same spot it's been for 5 years; same house, same room, same weather - so this is a recent phenomenon.

When I had the case apart I didn't notice any fans not working (CPU, Power supply).

Wondering if this is a sign from the universe that it's time to move on to a new computer with WIN10 PRO - as I'm starting to run into software updates that are only WIN 10 compatible.

Thanks for any offered advice,
Danny V.
mettelus
Max Output Level: -22 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 5321
Re: Signs of SSD Failure? 2018/06/19 20:23:32 (permalink)