O.K. Here is my N°1: The most beautiful day

Author
ottonis
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 180
2005/02/19 19:15:13 (permalink)

O.K. Here is my N°1: The most beautiful day

Hi folks,

This is not my first song, but the first one to be submitted on this forum. It`s a christian gospel song I have heard a many years ago two people performing live in a church. I spent much time and all of my knowledge to create this little piece of music based on these rememberings:

"The most beautiful day": http://www.soundclick.com/bands/7/joshuagospelmusic.htm

I am not a pro, but I tried to incorporate as many of the tips and tricks on mixing and mastering in the main SONAR forum.
The reason why I post this song here is primarily because I want to learn from you. I would be very very grateful for your comments on how I could further improve the mixing / arrangement / EQ etc...

And here is how I did the song:

Recording:
Mic: AKG Emotion C900 (stage condenser mic)
Preamp: dbx 286 project one with built in compressor / enhancer / gate / deesser
Soundcard: ESI Waveterminal 192X

Everything is - of course - recorded, mixed and written in SONAR (3.11); All audio in 44.1 kHz / 24 bit

Instruments:
A)patches from SR Sonic Synth 1 and Expansion ROMs (Nylon + steel guitar; Honky-Tonk piano; electric guitar "brain damage"; Bossa Nova Drum Set; Gritty Rhodes; fingered bass; acoustic bass; slap bass; large string ensemble)
B) from siedlaczek compact orchestra: brass FF sus + brass staccato
C) from EWQLSO Gold: Solo Violin sus vibrato hard

Effects:
- Sonic Timeworks EQ (on almost every track)
- Endorphin on the bass guitars
- Dominion on drums ("meat machine" preset)
- Lexicon PSP 42 delay on vocals track only
- Prosoniq Mixciter on Vocals
- Voxengo Lampthruster on vocals
- Kjaerhus Classic Chorus on vocals
- SIR Reverb with Impulse resonses from noisevault.com (Lexicon PCM91 String Hall / Piano Hall / Real Vocals) on violin /