Looking for the right midi sample

Author
tcolton5
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 203
2018/09/11 22:53:03 (permalink)

Looking for the right midi sample

I'm trying to record a version of David Bowie's "Cat People" on the Let's Dance LP.  This is a question for you keyboard and midi players out there.  I'm new to midi but can do some things.  I need to find the right patch or sample of the really cool keyboard sound in that track.  See youtube link below.  I tried a few things like using a Hammond on the bottom and a DX7 on the top. I'm primarily using the synths that came with Sonar.  If anyone has any idea how to emulate that track that would be great.
Thanks!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4xpdaIZyzs

TomC
Lenovo T530 (Laptop)
Windows 8 (64 bit)
Intel(R) Core (TM) I7-3430(M) 2.90 GHz
Sonar Platinum 
Presonus Firestudio, Faderport
Universal Solo/610 Audio Pre-amp
Nektar Impact LX 40
http://www.tomcoltonmusic.com

4 Replies Related Threads

promidi
    Max Output Level: -66 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1220
    Re: Looking for the right midi sample 2018/09/11 23:06:22 (permalink)
    Exactly which version of SONAR are you using? Which synths do you actually have access to?  Personally, I would try and edit an existing patch to achieve that sound.

I'm thinking a Hammond with a filter envelope, maybe layered with a DX7 sound. 

Windows 10 64bit fully patched, 16 gig ram . 
    PCR-800 Controller.  (Working in Win 10 1809 64bit)
    CPU: i5 4670. 
    Video: Nvidia GTX560ti (latest drivers).
    Audio IF: Focusrite 2i2 2nd Gen

Internet always on.

Software
    : Cakewalk by Bandlab (2018.09 B29)
    ASIO mode. 24bit 48khz 256 samples 
    Rapture Pro, AAS GS2, VS-3, EP-4, VA-2, Chromophone 2, Z3TA+ 2, Addictive drums 2, Addictive Keys, Mpowersynth (latest), Iris 2, GPO5, Sampletank 3,
    Audioicon
    Max Output Level: -84 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 349
    Re: Looking for the right midi sample 2018/09/12 03:09:43 (permalink)
    tcolton5