Helpful ReplyAI in DAW: Logic Pro's new update will detect and mark tempo

Page: < 123 > Showing page 2 of 3
Author
Anderton
Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 14070
Re: AI in DAW: Logic Pro's new update will detect and mark tempo 2018/09/21 16:54:51 (permalink)
vladasyn
Saying, "We just basic DAW, if you want other tools- go with 3rd party" is not the way to move toward the future.

Actually...I think it is. The field of machine learning (which I think has far more potential for music than AI) and AI are complex, evolving, and specialized fields. Furthermore, the level of integration with a program is mostly scooping up data - the analysis happens outside the program, and then the conclusions "pour" back into the program the same way (but of course, in a much more involved way) as data from a hardware controller making changes in EQ, automation, etc.

If I was a machine learning developer who was interested in music, I would not design a DAW to go along with it. I'd feel that the DAW world is relatively mature, and I would just want to create compatible products rather than re-invent the wheel.

As soon as plug-ins were invented, DAWs went down the road of being modular, rather than self-contained. Machine learning is a perfect candidate for a modular approach.

I wrote an article for Pro Sound News, Pro Audio and Machine Learning - Ready for Prime Time? that you might find interesting.

The first 3 books in "The Musician's Guide to Home Recording" series are available from Hal Leonard and http://www.reverb.com. Listen to my music on http://www.YouTube.com/thecraiganderton, and visit http://www.craiganderton.com. Thanks!
vladasyn
Max Output Level: -69 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1092
Re: AI in DAW: Logic Pro's new update will detect and mark tempo 2018/09/21 19:52:56 (permalink)
This is nice article, thanks for sharing. Could you, please, explain this better?