CRITIQUES much appreciated

Author
NC2
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 61
2005/02/21 01:18:32 (permalink)

CRITIQUES much appreciated

Hello everyone! I am new to the boards... while being somewhat "old" to SONAR. My brother (Terry) and I have been fiddling around with Sonar for a few years. We are still working with Sonar XL 1.3, awaiting the purchase of a new super computer to upgrde to SONAR 4 PE and better sound cards.

Over the last few years we have put together a studio of old and new equipment. I have been the one focused on sound engineering, mixing, production etc. What I know of it is basically self taught from reading and experience. I am always looking to continue learning, realizing that there are still some fundamental things that I need to master.

Terry has been a guitarist for many, many years now. I come from an art and architectural background with no formal musical training except for a developed skill in active listening... and an eclectic taste in music inherited form my parents who taught us to enjoy all kinds of music, especially big band, swing, fifties jazz, and 60's brazillian beat. My brother Jay is also a musician (and works for Uni/Vivendi or whatever it's called today). Jay lives a little further away, so we don't get together as much to record, but want to very much. Over the last few years Terry and I have fiddled around with hundreds of songs in various stages of completion. Lately I have been trying to understand and attempt to get the recordings as close to CD quality. I'm finding I have made some progress towards that goal, but have not quite made it in my opinion. I'll remain patient (and won't be too hard on myself) until we make the jump to a better computer and sound cards, along with SONAR 4 PE (hopefully in the next month or two).