Helpful ReplyZynaptic Intensity

Author
Marshall
Max Output Level: -78 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 602
2018/11/23 14:16:12 (permalink)

Zynaptic Intensity

This is currently on sale - is any one using it?

I have been excited about it since reading Paul White's review in the September edition of Sound on Sound. So, now it is on sale, I have downloaded the demo and have been trying it out this morning. I'm a little underwhelmed. 

It is quite good, but for mastering, I can't get it to do anything quite as well Ozone Advanced, which I already own. I should add that I am far from an expert on Ozone, but I am pretty happy with the results I get - and that is without fiddling and tweaking for hours. 

I have also tried Intensity on a vocal track, but I couldn't get it to sound as good as Waves Scheps Omni Channel combined with Waves Scheps 73 EQ, which has been my go to combination for a while now. 

I guess I will save my money and not buy Intensity - how about that for self restraint? I'd be interested in other users experiences. I honestly am beginning to think that once you have a bunch of Waves and Izotope stuff, you don't need much else! 
Bajan Blue
Max Output Level: -55 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2029
Re: Zynaptic Intensity 2018/11/25 16:27:09 (permalink) ☄ Helpfulby Marshall 2018/11/25 17:06:01
Hi Bill
I just read the article by Paul White (we're always a few months behind here!!)
Anyway I downloaded the Intensity trial and gave it a run.
As a test, I was using a track I have just mixed and originally Mastered with Ozone 8
I disabled Ozone and put on Intensity
When you first put it on the track it definitely sounded different, perhaps even more open. I adjusted the settings until I got something I thought, initially, sounded better.
But after a couple listens I was not so sure.
So I tried a few combinations, Intensity plus a limiter (PSP Xenon) Intensity on its own, Intensity into Ozone.
Then I tried Eqivocate, that I also use.
Without doubt Eqivocate was best to my ears.