Helpful ReplySONAR forum dead, long live Cakewalk forum

Author
Euthymia
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 223
2019/01/03 00:02:29 (permalink)

SONAR forum dead, long live Cakewalk forum

I had the idea to go back and look at my first posts here.

I was really the odd man out, because unlike anyone else participating, I never had a license for Sonar (well, I actually did, way back in the early 2000's at the first version that was called "Sonar"). I only had a Gibscake account because I registered for the free copy of CA-2A when they were giving it away. I'm into free stuff. So I was a stone newbie with modern Sonar, not privy to the dark times of the Gibson announcement (which, I feel ya there, especially the people who sprung for the perpetual licenses) or the weirdness of the BandLab announcement.

First one was replying to someone who posted about the MIDI filter, and I was appreciative and mentioned something humorous about my Kawai K1 that Toddskins thought was funny. Came full circle on that. Toddskins and I have been forum pals ever since, I guess.

Second one was a long one about psychoacoustic perception changes induced by upsampling and downsampling algorithms in different DAWs. No attention paid to it because New Forum Person Syndrome.

Third one was ripping someone a new orifice when they disparaged the change to a freeware licensing model. LOL :-)

Guess I settled in to that role pretty quickly....well, I hope that one or more of my screeds reminded people that free software is all around us and that the wealthiest software companies in the world make a practice of licensing freeware (I never even brought up iTunes!).

Even before there was consumer software, Gillette became the top brand in their field by "giving away the razor and selling the blades."

I found it weird that so many people couldn't get their heads around the change to a freeware licensing model.

It seemed self-evident to me that: