Compression vs. EQ

Author
Peter Rabbit
Max Output Level: -64 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1305
2005/06/03 14:35:23 (permalink)

Compression vs. EQ

I’m still fairly new to this but doing my best to understand. I have read Sonar Power, Sonar4 Power, Home Recording for Dummies, the Sonar4 Manual, as well as many threads in this and other forums. I have also followed links to Mixing & Mastering web pages. But I have not been able to really get a definite answer to my question.

The following is an example of what confuses me:

I have used a synthesized instrument to produce a bass sound in one of my tracks of the project. The synthesized sound actually runs quite a gambit of frequencies. I would like to make this bass sound louder but it clips if I raise the volume.

Using different tools I have discovered which frequencies emanating from the synthesized bass sound that are responsible for the clipping.

Now… I can use an Equalizer to reduce the gain on those offensive frequencies, which will allow me to raise the overall volume of the track, thereby giving me a louder sounding bass.

However… I can also accomplish the same thing using the Sonitus Compressor and compressing those offensive frequencies, which will allow me to raise the overall volume of the track, thereby giving me a louder sounding bass.

So… My question is: When is it appropriate to use EQ and when is it appropriate to use Compression? I understand the functions of both. I just don’t know when to use which one.

"Creating a bad song takes just as much time and energy as creating a good one. The problem is that you don't know it's a bad song until someone tells you, and by then it's too late."
P. Rabbit

20 Replies Related Threads

Steve_Karl
    Max Output Level: -50 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2534
    RE: Compression vs. EQ 2005/06/03 14:39:53 (permalink)
    No rules ... do what sounds best to your ears.
    Peter Rabbit
    RE: Compression vs. EQ 2005/06/03 14:57:23 (permalink)