16-bit mastering - help!

Author
philbrux
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 6
2005/08/11 04:03:00 (permalink)

16-bit mastering - help!

Hi,

I'm a novice user trying to master a mix recorded at 24-bit, 44.1kHz down to 16-bit so I can make a CD. My song involves six acoustic instrument tracks and a vocal track, no midi.

I was felling very pleased with myself listening to the 24-bit mix - each track is distortion-free, the overall level is hot but not clipping, all the bassy and trebly bits sound great, etc.

However when I export to a 16-bit stereo Wav file, I was disappointed to find the whole thing is a mess of distortion. This is true even when (as an experiment) I turn the output level way down so the peaks are nowhere near the red zone, it still sounds awful.

So I'd be grateful for some beginners advice on 16-bit mastering. Is it just about the track levels, or is eq relevant too? I've been reading on the Sonar forum that the pros use exotic compression plugins for mastering - do I need one of these? If so, which one (on a bedroom-studio budget!) Is overall compression necessary or desirable for acoustic music? At the moment I have no processing in the master channel. I only use a compressor on the vocal track.

I'm having particular trouble with a bassy drum track that has a big bass eq boost and a long reverb. I turn the level right down as an experiment, but it still distorts badly in the 16-bit version. It seems to interact badly with the other tracks too. Is this because this track has so much bass? How do I lose the distortion but keep the big bass sound?

Thanks, Phil.

5 Replies Related Threads

boten
    Max Output Level: -31.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4353
    RE: 16-bit mastering - help! 2005/08/11 07:46:22 (permalink)
    Did you apply dither when exporting the file to 16 bit from your 24 bit mix?
    papa2004
    Max Output Level: -10.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 6475
    RE: 16-bit mastering - help! 2005/08/11 12:08:37 (permalink)