OT: Tuning Percusion Instruments

Author
SpiderHasLegs
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 33
2005/08/11 16:51:17 (permalink)

OT: Tuning Percusion Instruments

[I've posted this thread in the techniques forum but was hoping for a little exposure here]

I've always considered myself a fairly musical person though i'm fairly new to making music with computers. I've learned to play a number of instruments by ear and am fairly adept at tuning them.

However, the other day i saw a video demonstration of someone working in Reason, tuning various percusion intruments to the base line of the song. Much to my chagrin, i could not indentify when, how or why these samples were out of tune.

What was particlularly upsetting was the author making mention of '... how much better it sounds ... noticeable difference ...' the changes he was making.

My question(s) is this: is it common practice to tune hand claps, drums etc to the rest of the song in order for them to 'fit' or 'blend' in with the rest of the song? If so, does this person have a much better ear than i or is there a certain amount of experience/science to this that can be learned over time?

Any insight would be greatly appreciated,

C
post edited by SpiderHasLegs - 2005/08/11 16:57:03

8 Replies Related Threads

danwilms
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 71
    RE: OT: Tuning Percusion Instruments 2005/08/11 17:46:10 (permalink)
    I can't answer to tuning in the computer but when I work with a band mixing live for any length of time I will at some point sit and tune the drums. It's one of those 2% things that seperates the great sounding bands from everyone else.

There are a lot of little tricks that you learn over the years like to control a ringing drum you tune it all the lugs slightly high and back off two opposing lugs. It doesn't change the tone or feel but it does stop the woooo ooooo ring that makes some kits miserable to mic.

Dan