Simulating Accedentals with Midi

Author
mcewen
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 11
2005/08/16 09:39:50 (permalink)

Simulating Accedentals with Midi

Fellow Music Makers:

I’m a bit of a newbie and am looking for some sage advice on midi sequencing. I have a piece of classical music I’m entering into Sonar and I’m currently trying to incorporate the accidentals. Things like volume adjusters like pp, mf, ff, velocity adjusters like a bar or dot over the note and note slurs.

Do any of you have a good resource on how to simulate the aforementioned properly with Sonar’s automation envelopes? I.e. should a dot over a note be depicted as a ramp or a straight jump in value? Is a slur a ramp or a curve? Etc. Any advice or reference resource pointers should be greatly appreciated.

Bruce

5 Replies Related Threads

cjstearns
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 58
    RE: Simulating Accedentals with Midi 2005/08/16 10:46:19 (permalink)
    Not sure what your asking, but I hope I can get it .
    A dot over a note is a staccato marking which is a detached note, and also very lightly accented, best thing to do Imo is shorten the note in the piano roll edit, and very slightly increase the volume of that note just a little (depending on the music situation, if it is a whole run of staccatos you don't want to keep increasing volume).
    As for slurs there should be no volume, or velocity adjustment, just increase the note length to its maximum value, there should be no empty sound space between the notes.
    When I am making volume adjustments I use the envelope feature, and use ramps if the music states a crescendo or decrescendo. I use the curve for more of a dramatic movement, usually when its not implied in the music. If I have a piece that goes from, lets say piano (p) to forte (F) I will create nodes and move directly from a lower volume to a higher volume, with no ramp or curve.