Is my amp loud enough?

Author
Monkey
Max Output Level: -87 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 192
2005/10/11 23:14:46 (permalink)

Is my amp loud enough?

I'm just wondering ('cause I'm looking to buy an amp), what is the minimum amount of watts an amp should be to play comfortably with a set of drums and/or a live band (in rehearsal anyway)? Is wattage even what I should be measuring by? I feel stupid asking considering I've been playing guitar for the last 17 years!! I've got my eye on this amp but it's 60 watts. Is that enough? It's not for metal or anything but a loud enough clean and distorted sound is important. Thanks

In defence of my ignorance. Up until this point, I've lived in an apartment where a loud amp would not be appreciated so I usually played electric unplugged.

22 Replies Related Threads

Lay In Wait
    Max Output Level: -57.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1764
    RE: Is my amp loud enough? 2005/10/12 00:47:16 (permalink)
    Not sure if yer lookin for a combo amp or head and cab! 60 watts is a little underpowered if lookin to say jam with a drummer, but, on stage it would be fine as they r usually mic'd and run through the house pa! Some of these new heads from Line6 and Krank are puttin out anywhere from 300 to 500 watts, WoW, I know! But in your case I would look for sumthing thats say 100 or 80! There are some real nice 2/12 combo amps on the market today! But nothin beats a 100 watt head and 4/12 cab, in my opinion! Oh by the way I DO play metal with a lot of clean sections in my music, and its nice to have more power than u need sometimes! Your options are almost endless!, I'de go try a few out, or hit up Long and Mcquade for a weekly rental on something, I like to before I buy! Hope that helps a bit!
    PieterVW
    • Total Posts : 184
    RE: Is my amp loud enough? 2005/10/12 02:01:14 (permalink)