New to Sonar 5

Author
ByronSanto
Max Output Level: -86 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 247
2005/10/14 23:27:43 (permalink)

New to Sonar 5

Hi

I'm new to this form and to Sonar. I've been recording with 3 Roland VS recorders (1880, 1680 & 880) for years and have finally made the decision to change to Sonar 5. I'm planning on purchasing a 100% dedicated music PC with Win XP x64 edition and was wondering if having new/clean install might eliminate some of the problems that I have read about?

Thanks for any help that anyone can offer on the subject.

4 Replies Related Threads

Al
    Max Output Level: -35 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4047
    RE: New to Sonar 5 2005/10/14 23:34:21 (permalink)
    I'm planning on purchasing a 100% dedicated music PC with Win XP x64 edition and was wondering if having new/clean install might eliminate some of the problems that I have read about?

umm..if you plan to get a NEW computer wouldn't it have a FRESH OS and a "clean install" of Sonar right after you get it ?

you can transfer your older projects (the midi events +audio tracks+clips location+envelopes..if they work;)

what you can't transfer without copying configuration files and reinstalling the plugins (and maybe that's what you're asking really ? ) -

stuff which is saved in the registry (colors for example)...for presets you do have a utility from Cakewalk to make a backup..
    fx and synths might be missing on your older projects..

am i even getting close ?

Much fun with ours to natural resound! <G>
    Billy Buck
    Max Output Level: -54 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 2101
    RE: New to Sonar 5 2005/10/15 08:51:27 (permalink)
    ORIGINAL: ByronSanto
    I'm planning on purchasing a 100% dedicated music PC with Win XP x64 edition and was wondering if having new/clean install might eliminate some of the problems that I have read about?