DimPro: New Guy Question

Author
JohnrC
Max Output Level: -83 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 393
2005/12/16 08:58:30 (permalink)

DimPro: New Guy Question

I'm very new to soft synths. In the case of Dimension Pro, how are patches/tracks set up?

For example, my hardware synth is set so that I have a different patch (or voice) assigned to 16 different MIDI tracks. To do this with DP, do you install 16 instances of the synth? Or does one 'instance' provide numerous voices?

Wow. Hope that makes sense.

Thanks and best regards,
John

15 Replies Related Threads

torhan
    Max Output Level: -32.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4271
    RE: DimPro: New Guy Question 2005/12/16 10:42:12 (permalink)
    I don't own DMP (yet), but from what I've read, each instance has 4 elements, each of which can be assigned a separate midi channel, in essence creating a 4-part multitimbral synth. So you would need 4 instances in your case

Someone correct me if I'm wrong!

Sonar Platinum
    Premier Tracks
    ASCAP
    cityrat
    Max Output Level: -77 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 671
    RE: DimPro: New Guy Question 2005/12/16 11:44:10 (permalink)
    You have 16 instances is the standard way with DP. You can route each of four channels to individual elements of one instance if you like.

Note: There is not a 16X use of resources for loading 16 instances. Its just a different way of working from a "multi" type setup. I like the DP way better, since I can think of each as an "instrument" vs which channel is inst A, inst B etc.

lawapa
    Max Output Level: -68 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 1144
    RE: DimPro: New Guy Question 2005/12/16 17:21:33 (permalink)