Quick Dimension Question

Author
jamester
Max Output Level: -61 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1481
2006/04/23 04:45:37 (permalink)

Quick Dimension Question

I will be sprnging for Dim Pro soon, and am thinking of using it pretty much exclusively for my synth and sampling needs (my needs aren't that great, really). So far I've mostly used Sampletank 2...

My question is about the lack of a built-in keyboard (and virtual mod/pitch wheels) like most every other soft-sampler has. Please realize I'm still a bit new to all this, but does this affect DP's functionality? Obviously I can't immediately sample a program with my mouse (though I can do that in a piano roll), but how does this affect zones and such?

It seems that without a midi controller attached, Dimension is limited a bit functionally compared to instruments that do have the virtual keys? Any help/explanation on this will be greatly appreciated!

thanks in advance =)

Purrrfect Audio DAW built by Jim Roseberry
Edirol UA-1000, Korg PadKontrol, Dynaudio BM 5A's
Reaper, Live, Sound Forge, Pyro

14 Replies Related Threads

lost sheep
    Max Output Level: -75 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 798
    RE: Quick Dimension Question 2006/04/23 05:16:31 (permalink)
    It seems that without a midi controller attached, Dimension is limited a bit functionally compared to instruments that do have the virtual keys? Any help/explanation on this will be greatly appreciated!
    Totally thrown by your method of working here James! You mean you actually compose and modulate your music on a virtual keyboard. That sounds so much like hard work given the price of a cheap controller. Personally I prefer my VST's without v.kbds as they use valuable screen space and just add to the GUI overhead.

I've never specifically looked for one but I have seen midi virtual keyboards floating around. You could do a search for one if you think it's going to be a problem.
    jamester
    RE: Quick Dimension Question 2006/04/23 05:29:12 (permalink)