Mixer/Amp required?

Author
Orbit
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 8
2006/07/20 04:55:32 (permalink)

Mixer/Amp required?

Got a hardware related question, sorry it's a bit basic but im still learning! I'm running Sonar 5 on my PC, using an M-Audio Audiophile 2496 soundcard, attached to the audio out port I have a small stereo amp connected to speakers (im intending to replace this), the audio in port is generally taken up by my keyboard which is also attached to the soundcard via the Midi cables. I have since added a drum machine to the setup and also have a turntable, both I cannot use for recording unless I swap out the keyboard, fine but a pain. I'm not currently utilising the S/PDIF digital I/O on the soundcard.

My question is - I want all of this equipment attached at the same time so I can control the inputs to my soundcard without having to plug/unplug the gear when its needed, or even be able to record multiple inputs at the same time. I also want to attach the keyboard and drum machine to the card via Midi cables, although the keyboard is already set up this way I could use the midi thru port on the keyboard for the drum machine? I'm also assuming I will buy more kit in the future so need to consider expansion!

Do I need a mixer? Will this work with the Audiophile 2496? Can I attach multiple pieces of hardware with 1/4" phono leads to something like a mixer? (Update - I just noticed the BEHRINGER Eurorack UB802 just after i typed this, as something that could be what im after!)

Could I do this with a new soundcard? Is it worth upgrading?

Could I just ditch the stereo and go for an amp with multiple inputs?

I'm also looking at getting some decent monitor speakers in the future but this is not a priority.

If anyone can explain the best way round this, it will be much appreciated. I'm not afraid of hardware being a computer nerd, but audio is kinda still new when it comes to expanding beyond the usual gear!