USB 1.0 or 2.0 sound card?

Author
ptorpey
Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 85
2006/07/20 15:39:43 (permalink)

USB 1.0 or 2.0 sound card?

I am a newbie to midi recording and using Cakewalk's Music Creator 3.0 software.

My current setup is an Ensonics midi keyboard (with lots of sounds) hooked up via midi to USB to my desktop computer. I play the keyboard through the soft synths on the PC and listen through the PC. Unfortunately, the sound card built onto the mother-board produces a latency which makes it impossible for my fingers to play along with the metronome and/or a previously recorded track. Also, my desktop PC is a slim-line version and cannot handle another PCI card inside. The internal sound card doesn't support ASIO drivers (I have WDM selected) and I've played around with buffer sizes to minimize latency, but to no avail.

Thus, I am looking at purchasing a USB sound card with ASIO drivers to eliminate the latency (my PC doesn't support firewire).

My question: I have seen several USB 1.0 devices (such as the M-Audio FastTrack) as well as a soon-to-be released E-Mu 0202 which runs USB 2.0. Some folks have told me that the bandwidth of the USB 1.0 could limit playback of audio material (which is certainly believable). Others have told me that, even if I use many audio tracks inside Music Creator, as long as I only output the many audio tracks through 2 outputs I won't have a problem with playback or recording. So, which is correct here - Should I purchase the USB 1.0 sound card now or wait until the USB 2.0 device is being shipped by the end of the summer? How are multiple midi and/or audio tracks in MC actually merged down and/or output through the sound card? Will bandwith be a problem with a USB 1.0 device? One thing for sure, I don't want to run into this latency problem again!

Thanks for any suggestions/help.

-- Pete

-- Pete

6 Replies Related Threads

Slugbaby
    Max Output Level: -33.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4172