solo musician gear set-up

Author
colinza
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 4
2006/07/26 07:47:17 (permalink)

solo musician gear set-up

Hi,
I'm new to this site and have a really basic and dumb query.
I'm a guitarist playing in bands for many years but never got involved in the backing track sequencing game.
I understand the basics and as a software engineer have a technical background.
I would like to start dabbling in the one man band arena and am asking some assistance.
Is there a good site that will show me the basic gear configurations and permutations in setting up a solo artist type equipment set please?

Thanks
Best Regards
Colin

2 Replies Related Threads

ohhey
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 11676
    RE: solo musician gear set-up 2006/07/26 11:16:13 (permalink)

ORIGINAL: colinza

Hi,
    I'm new to this site and have a really basic and dumb query.
    I'm a guitarist playing in bands for many years but never got involved in the backing track sequencing game.
    I understand the basics and as a software engineer have a technical background.
    I would like to start dabbling in the one man band arena and am asking some assistance.
    Is there a good site that will show me the basic gear configurations and permutations in setting up a solo artist type equipment set please?

Thanks
    Best Regards
    Colin

Hey Colin, I don't know of any site but you can get a lot of information here on this forum. I made the switch from bands to personal studio about 20 years ago and things have changed a lot since then. Today, a PC and some software can replace a room full of hardware and a mile of wire.

Cakewalk products seem to look and feel like a Windows program more then others so it should be fairly easy to learn. Getting the sound interface configured and tuning the latency on the system if the first task but after that it's easy.