tracking, mixing, and mastering concepts

Author
Jonny M
Max Output Level: -88 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 127
2006/07/27 08:36:35 (permalink)

tracking, mixing, and mastering concepts

Hi! I'm a newbie to learning how to mix/master etc and am wondering how people generally work on their projects.

Could someone explain a little what you would generally expect to do in each of the tracking, mixing, and mastering stage. At the moment, I'm sort of all over the place, expecting to do everything at once, resulting in me destroying most material. I want to learn the patience needed when producing, and splitting into stages, concentrating on one at a time will probably do me the world of good.

Cheers,

Jonny

14 Replies Related Threads

johndale
    Max Output Level: -43 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3228
    RE: tracking, mixing, and mastering concepts 2006/07/27 09:15:09 (permalink)
    Do a search, there was just a big thread on that subject with great advice..................
    yep
    Max Output Level: -34.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 4057
    RE: tracking, mixing, and mastering concepts 2006/07/27 11:39:58 (permalink)
    It's pretty simple really.

Tracking: The recording engineer sets up mics and record the musicians, using mic placement and selection to achieve the most accurate and/or flattering reproduction.

Mixing: The mix engineer mixes the several tracks together to a single stereo (or surround) output, applying effects and additional processing as necessary to individual tracks or groups of tracks to make the tracks sound pleasing and balanced together, so that the material and performance is presented in the most accurate or flattering way.

Mastering: A mastering engineer takes the final stereo or surround mix and formats it to the "master" copy from which the duplicates will be made, checking the file and the master copy carefully for correct formatting and adherence to the appropriate standards and tolerances for the target file format.

Cheers.