is MC2 the right program for me?

Author
confused
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 2
2006/09/20 16:23:07 (permalink)

is MC2 the right program for me?

I bought MC2 several months with the expectation that I could enter the notes of music I've written and make it sound good - at least to me. I don't have an instrument to hook up to to my computer and I'm lost when it comes to most of the terms used in the booklet that came with the program and the help section, etc. I've read the newbie section several times and I'm still learning how to do things just by trial and error. This is very frustrating. So I need really simple instructions on how to use this program if you're not using an outside instrument. Thanks.

4 Replies Related Threads

vErSeSeTeRnAl
    Max Output Level: -89 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 72
    RE: is MC2 the right program for me? 2006/09/20 22:53:54 (permalink)
    i've found that the easiest way to make music is in the piano roll view...i'd suggest learning everything you can about it and practice the same way..trial and error....i've made huge strides by doing the same...it really is an excellent program...just takes a little frustration to get to where you want to be with it...let me know if i can help at all with any ?s..ok?
    57Gregy
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 14404
    RE: is MC2 the right program for me? 2006/09/20 22:59:32 (permalink)
    Since you aren't using a MIDI keyboard/controller, and you suggest that you can write music, you'll use the staff view. Start a new project, select MIDI only, or normal from the menu, click on a MIDI track, it has a little icon which looks like a tape reel. At the top of the screen, you should have a 'view' button. Click it and select 'staff'. Now you can use the mouse to enter notes on the staff. Whether you can get it to make noise is a whole 'nother story. How fast is your computer? How much memory does it have? What kind of sound card does it have?