Using midi: is my soundcard the prob?

Author
kyle008
Max Output Level: -90 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 35
2006/09/26 21:25:09 (permalink)

Using midi: is my soundcard the prob?

Hey all, I'm very new to this midi stuff and I cruised this forum looking for an answer but have had no luck
First off my setup is:
Amd sempron 2gz 1.5mb ram
Soundcard- not sure here- comp is a compaq v2000z- in device manager it says conexant ac-link, also says legacy audio drivers
Im using MC2
Midi controller is a Korg k25

So my problem is latency. All the cases I could find of this problem describe different solutions, all of which I tried. I tried setting all the different driver options and mme and asio worked. However they both have horrible latency, and after messing with them back and forth I lost use of any of them (ms synth doesnt show up under midi devices for either)

But my main question is if anyone is familiar with my soundcard and if so what driver should i be using? when i set it to default, there are no choices under midi devices that produce sound when choosen. Will i be able to have monitoring without a delay, without purchasing an external sound card?

And btw i read the tutorial section by robomusic about latency, but was unable to solve my problem there.

Sorry if i have left out any necessary info. Thanks

3 Replies Related Threads

Beagle
    Max Output Level: 0 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 50621
    RE: Using midi: is my soundcard the prob? 2006/09/26 21:31:57 (permalink)
    kyle - conexant is your soundcard - it's actually just a chip on the motherboard. ASIO won't work with it and it's not likely that WDM will either, but you might be able to get ASIO4ALL to work with it. more than likely it will only work with MME.