Midi Drums

Author
fooman
Max Output Level: -63 dBFS
  • Total Posts : 1382
2006/10/03 13:49:35 (permalink)

Midi Drums

Hello!
I own S6PE. I'm totally new to midi, grooves, basically anything but recording a rock band doing all audio.
I now have some artists who want to record with me, which means some want to do cover songs along with their original tracks with keyboards and drum tracks I'd have to match pretty well. I'd like to be able to set up a basic drum track within a half hr or so and just have a singer/musician come in and lay down their tracks. This would save a ton of time.

What do I need to be able to do this with Sonar 6? How can I put a basic midi drum track and also put in a specific drum fill (for those cover tunes) every prechorus or interlude? How can I get a drum groove and edit it a bit of it so it matches up with the pattern I have in my head?

Please remember, I'm a total newb when it comes to midi and drum editing. I don't even own a keyboard. I'm fairly certain by what I've seen online that I can do this with a mouse/kayboard and S6PE.

3 Replies Related Threads

jacktheexcynic
    Max Output Level: -44.5 dBFS
    • Total Posts : 3069
    RE: Midi Drums 2006/10/03 20:30:51 (permalink)
    how much do you know about meter and tempo? if you have a grasp of those two concepts then you can probably point and click your way into some decent groove clips in no time. most drum beats have three things going on - the kick, snare and ride. the "ride" instrument is usually a hi-hat but can be cymbal rides or in high-energy sections toms and cymbal crashes. of course there are exceptions but this is the typical drums scenario.